My thoughts on Death

Lately I’ve been thinking a lot about death. Not because I’m depressed or anything. Just for awhile now death has been coming up more frequently than usual. I personally don’t really enjoy talking about death because talking about it stops you from living. Also it makes people either argue about the afterlife, make them really sad, or it frightens and worries people. However, I feel I need to write about this topic to get it off my chest and out in the open. So I can understand it more.

“To the well-organized mind, death is but the next great adventure.” ~J.K Rowling, Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone  

Even though death cannot be understood, I believe people fear death because they fear the unknown. I think people are saddened when people pass away because they think they will never see them again. That they are gone. Forever. I think people believe in the afterlife so they don’t have to be afraid of death. I think everyone is afraid of dying. Anyone who says they aren’t are lying. It’s terrifying not knowing what might happen. It’s like getting into a rocket ship to go on a mission into space. Or jumping into a long dark hole in the ground. Because you have no idea what the outcome will be.
I believe death is the same feeling. Pure and utter fear.

“I’m not afraid of death, I just don’t want to be there when it happens.” ~Woody Allen  

I think it’s humane to be afraid of death. At least a little bit. The main thing I can’t believe about death is how those who do not believe that anything happens after death cannot live their life to the fullest every single day!? And say “I love you” to all their friends and family every single day!? Because if you seriously believe to your core that nobody has a soul, and nobody goes anywhere after death but into the ground…then how can you not live that way?
From the second we are born we start dying, each and every minute, each and every day. So this can’t be life….this is death. Death is not the end.

“Life asked death, why do people love me but hate you? 

Death responded…’Because you are a beautiful lie and I’m the painful truth.” ~Unknown

I don’t really want to go into everything I believe about death to be true in my mind, in my heart and in my soul. That would take way too long and nobody probably has the time or wants to waste their precious life reading these words I’m typing.
What I will say is that I do believe in God. I believe in what God stands for. There has to be a creator somewhere way beyond the galaxies that created everything. All this art in this beautiful world. Isn’t for nothing. Isn’t a waste.

“I am haunted by humans.” ~ Death, The Book Thief by Markus Zusak     

Leave a Reply

